UIS Public Affairs Reporting Scholarships

IPF directors Dave Bell, Jon Whitney (owner/publisher, Carroll County Review, Thomson), John David Reed and Board President Jerry Reppert (owner, Reppert Publications) toast newspaper professionals at the start of the IPF Board's holiday luncheon.

Foundation Director Jeff Rogers and Board secretary Charlie Wheeler, also PAR director, introduce the scholarship recipients. “While the scholarships will be greatly appreciated by the recipients, they represent only a small part of the assistance our program has received from the state’s newspapers over the years,” said Wheeler.

IPF Director Jeff Rogers and Board President Jerry Reppert award Cassandra "Cassie" Buchman with a $1,200 scholarship. Buchman will be interning with GateHouse Media and The State Journal-Register this spring.

IPF Director Jeff Rogers and Board President Jerry Reppert award Grant Morgan with a $1,200 scholarship. Grant will be spending his PAR internship with the IPF’s new statehouse reporting bureau, Capitol News Illinois. He will be covering legislative sessions and committee hearings, while also handling various enterprise projects.

IPF Director Jeff Rogers and Board President Jerry Reppert award Lindsey Salvatelli with a $1,200 scholarship. Salvatelli will intern with the Illinois Times spring 2019.

(L-R) IPF directors Charlie Wheeler, John David Reed and Sally Renaud pose with Cassandra Buchman (center) in the IPA's lobby.


Three $1,200 scholarships are awarded annually to students enrolled in the UIS Public Affairs Reporting program. The scholarships are awarded based upon work experience, academic performance, financial need and the potential for a career in journalism. The scholarships are presented in December. This year's recipients are pictured above.

IPF News
The Illinois Press Foundation is honored to have a 2018 national award-winner on its board! Sally Renaud was one of five educators recognized by the National Scholastic Press Association as Pioneer Award recipients. Sally was awarded Nov. 3 during the JEA/NSPA convention in Chicago.The Pioneer is the highest honor NSPA awards to journalism educators. Pioneers are individuals who make substantial contributions to high school journalism programs and scholastic journalism education outside their pr...
Read More
At its December board meeting, the Illinois Press Foundation Board of Directors awarded three $1,200 scholarships to University of Illinois Springfield Public Affairs Reporting graduate students: Cassandra “Cassie” Buchman, Grant Morgan and Lindsey Salvatelli. “In talking to all of these kids, they’re really passionate about journalism,” IPF Director Jeff Rogers said. “They all have passion. Having been in journalism for nearly 30 years, it’s refreshing ...
Read More
The Illinois Press Foundation is launching a news service, Capitol Newswire Illinois, to provide coverage of state government to newspapers and broadcasters across the state. The objective is to reinvigorate coverage of state government in Illinois to create a centralized and unbiased source of news content for media and citizens.The IPF is seeking a full-time reporter to work with our full-time bureau chief and interns in this effort. The reporter will cover the activities of the Legislature, g...
Read More
Illinois Press Association Director of Foundation Jeff Rogers (left) and CEO Sam Fisher (right) accept the Illinois Journalism Education Association’s Friend of Scholastic Journalism Award on Nov. 3, 2018 at the Hyatt Regency in Chicago.The IJEA annually honors an individual or group that has demonstrated outstanding commitment to scholastic journalism. The IJEA selects honorees who have supported their mission by assisting IJEA in promoting high standards of scholastic journalism and elev...
Read More