Mission Statement

The Illinois Press Foundation is dedicated to promoting and protecting free expression through educational activities that foster the practice and respect of First Amendment principles and values, to enhance the quality of services provided by newspapers to their communities, and to support reading and literacy efforts.


The IPF was established in 1982 as the charitable arm of the Illinois Press Association.

Foundation Director and Board of Directors
  • Jeff Rogers
    Executive Director
  • Jerry Reppert
  • Jim Slonoff
    Vice President
  • Nathan Jones
  • Charlie Wheeler
  • Julie Boren
  • Dr. Peggy Bradford
  • Kathy Farren
  • Sam Fisher
  • John Galer
  • Linda Jones
  • Wendy Martin
  • Carter Newton
  • Jason Piscia
  • Doug Ray
  • John David Reed
  • Jim Shrader
  • Ron Wallace
  • Jon Whitney
  • Randy Swikle
    Emeritus Director
  • Wayne Woltman
    Emeritus Director
  • Cheryl Wormley
    Emeritus Director